Understanding ECMAScript 6: The Definitive Guide for JavaScript Developers



ECMAScript 6 represents the biggest change to the core of JavaScript in the history of the language. Not all JavaScript environments support ECMAScript 6 yet, but you can get ahead of the game by learning what’s coming and which features are available already.

Understanding ECMAScript 6 is a complete guide to the new object types, syntax, and other exciting capabilities ECMAScript 6 brings to JavaScript, written by expert developer Nicholas C. Zakas. Every chapter is packed with example code that works in any JavaScript environment, which you can run to see new features in action. You’ll learn:

  • All of the changes to JavaScript since ECMAScript 5
  • How ECMAScript 6 class syntax relates to more familiar JavaScript concepts
  • Why iterators and generators are useful
  • How arrow functions differ from regular functions
  • Additional options for storing data with sets, maps, and more
  • The power of inheriting from native types
  • Why people are excited about promises for asynchronous programming
  • How modules will change the way you organize code

For a glimpse farther into the future of JavaScript, Zakas even discusses the small changes to watch for in ECMAScript 7 (2016). Whether you’re a web developer or a Node.js developer, you’ll find Understanding ECMAScript 6 indispensable on your journey from ECMAScript 5 to ECMAScript 6.

Covers ECMAScript 6 and 7(2016)

May 2nd, 2016 by